Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC)

The Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (STAC) is a consultative body of the Consortium whose objective is to advise on the scientific and technological activities, programmes and plans of PLOCAN, to propose future actions that may improve the quality and scope of the work and to configure and propose the offer of access of external scientists to the platform.

STAC was constituted at its first meeting in Madrid on 6 November 2009. It is made up of persons of recognised international prestige in the fields related to the aims and activities of the Consortium. Its members were appointed by the Governing Board on the proposal of the institutions that make up the Consortium.

PresidentGerold Wefer. Professor, Bremen University.
MembersAntonio Fernández. Director, Institute of Animal Health, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

Begoña Pérez Gómez. Head of Harbor Oceanography Department (Physical Environment Area), Puertos del Estado.

Christopher Barnes. Professor, School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria.

Eleanor Frajka-Williams. Principal Research Scientist, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton.

Henry F Jeffrey. Senior Lecturer, School of Engineering, University of Edinburgh.

Lidia Esther Robaina. Professor, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

María Luisa Castaño. Advisor to the Director General, Centro de Investigaciones Energéticas,
Medioambientales y Tecnológicas (CIEMAT).

Monica Aguado Alonso. Director of the Grid Integration Department, CENER.

Ulf Riebesell. Head of research unit, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel.
Skip to content